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May 8, 2015 
 
The Honorable Wayne Williams,  
Colorado Secretary of State 
1700 Broadway Street, Suite 250 
Denver, CO 80290-1705 
 
Dear Secretary Williams: 
 
Colorado Nonprofit Association is pleased to have the opportunity to comment on updates to 8 CCR 1505-09, Rules 
for the Administration of the Colorado Charitable Solicitations Act (CCSA).  We are grateful for ongoing 
opportunities to work with the Colorado’s Secretary of State’s office to make CCSA work effectively without being 
unduly burdensome for Colorado’s nonprofit organizations. Our comments are as follows: 
 
Rule 1 – Definitions: The terms “suspension” and” “revocation” as used in CCSA aren’t defined in statute or rules. 
We recommend defining these terms in rules to help charities understand these statuses and their consequences.   

 
Rule 3- Expedited Hearing Deadlines: We recommend changing the title of the rule to “Expedited Hearing 
Deadlines for Denial, Suspension, or Revocation of Registration.” The proposed rules eliminate 3.1 as duplicative of 
statute but a reader may not understand the purpose of expedited hearings without also looking at 6-16-111 (6)(b).   
  
Rule 5 - Filing Deadlines and Extension of Filing Deadlines: HB 14-1206 replaces use of the phrase “late fee” 
with “fine.” We appreciate that these rules also make this change. It appears that 5.6 should also be changed. 

 
Rule 6- Fines: Although much of rule 6 duplicates the statute, the rules will be easier for charities to understand if 
some of the language of 6.1 is retained: 
• The law requires that the Secretary provide at least two notices before a fine is assessed. By keeping this 

language in Rule 6, charities will be reminded to respond quickly to these notices to avoid fines. Also, a charity 
may be less likely to contest a fine if it knows the Secretary has already provided two notices.  

• The rule should indicate that a charity is liable for fines 7 days following issuance of the final notice (6-16-114).  
• Rule 6.1.1 states that a $60 fine applies to an overdue report. Because current rule 6.1 is eliminated, a charity 

may not be sure which reports are referenced in 6.1.1. Therefore, 6.1.1 should be amended to say “OVERDUE 
REPORT MEANS FAILING TO PROPERLY RENEW OR UPDATE A REGISTRATION.” 

• 6.1 should retain the statutory reference to fines in 6-16-114.     
• Repealing 6.1.3 and 6.1.4 should help streamline the language and avoid confusion. 
 
Rule 9- Reinstating a suspended or withdrawn registration: 9.3.1 (a) would be clearer if it said “cure the 
deficiency FOR WHICH IT WAS SUSPENDED” or “… BY RETROACTIVELY RENEWING ITS REGISTRATION.”  

 
Thanks for the opportunity to submit comments on these rules. We have encouraged nonprofits to submit comments 
too if they are so inclined. 
 
Sincerely, 

 
Renny Fagan,  
President and CEO 


