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DEPARTMENT OF REGULATORY AGENCIES 

DIVISION OF REAL ESTATE 
BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS 

4CCR 725-2 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED PERMANENT RULEMAKING HEARING 
July 5, 2018 

 
CHAPTER 2:  REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE AS A REAL ESTATE 

APPRAISER 
 
Pursuant to and in compliance with Title 12, Article 61 and Title 24, Article 4, C.R.S. as 
amended, notice of proposed rulemaking is hereby given, including notice to the Attorney 
General of the State of Colorado and to all persons who have requested to be advised of the 
intention of the Colorado Board of Real Estate Appraisers (the “Board”) to promulgate rules, or 
to amend, repeal or repeal and re-enact the present rules of the Board. 
 

STATEMENT OF BASIS 
 

The statutory basis for the rules titled the Board of Real Estate Appraisers is Part 7 of Title 12, 
Article 61, Colorado Revised Statutes, as amended.   
 

STATEMENT OF PURPOSE 
 

The purpose of this rule is to effectuate the legislative directive to promulgate necessary and 
appropriate rules in conformity with the statute and the provisions of the federal Financial 
Institutions Reform, Recovery and Enforcement Act of 1989 as amended. 
 

SPECIFIC PURPOSE OF THIS RULEMAKING 
 

The specific purpose of this rule is to add, modify and amend language adhering to the adoption 
of new Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria by the Appraisal Qualifications Board of The 
Appraisal Foundation, as it pertains to licensure as a real estate appraiser. 
 

Proposed New, Amended and Repealed Rules 
 
Deleted material is showed by struck through; new material is indicated by underline. Rules, or 
portions of rules, which are unaffected are reproduced.  Readers are advised to obtain a copy of 
the complete rules of the Board at www.dora.colorado.gov/dre. 
 
 
CHAPTER 2: REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE AS A REAL ESTATE APPRAISER 
 
2.2 An aApplicant for licensure as a Colorado Licensed Appraiser must successfully complete 

the following requirements or the substantial equivalent thereof, as set forth in the Real 
Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria as defined and incorporated by reference in Board 
Rule 1.32: 

A. Real estate appraisal education: 

http://www.dora.colorado.gov/dre
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1. Basic Appraisal Principles: 30 hours; 

2. Basic Appraisal Procedures: 30 hours; 

3. 15-Hour National USPAP Course: 15 hours; 

4. Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use: 15 hours; 

5. Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach: 15 hours; 

6. Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches: 30 hours; and 

7. Residential Report Writing and Case Studies: 15 hours. 

B. College-level education: 

1. An applicant must successfully complete thirty (30) semester hours of college-level 
education from an accredited college, junior college, community college, or 
university as defined in Board Rule 1.30. If an accredited college or university 
accepts the college-level examination program® (CLEP) and examination(s) and 
issues a transcript for the exam showing its approval, it will be considered as credit 
for the college course. 

2. An applicant holding an Associate degree, or higher, from an accredited college, 
junior college, community college, or university as defined in Board Rule 1.30 
satisfies the thirty (30) hour college-level education requirement. 

3. An applicant with a college degree from a foreign country may have their education 
evaluated for “equivalency” by one of the following: 

a. An accredited, degree-granting domestic college or university; 

b. The American Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admission Officers; 

c. A foreign degree credential evaluation service company that is a member of 
the National Association of Credential Evaluation Services; or 

d. A foreign degree credential evaluation service company that provides 
equivalency evaluation reports accepted by an accredited degree- granting 
domestic college or university or by a state licensing board that issues 
credentials in another discipline. 

BC. Real estate appraisal experience: An aApplicant must demonstrate to the satisfaction 
of the Board that the aApplicant completed at least twoone thousand (21,000) hours 
of appraisal experience in no fewer than six (6) months, in conformance with the 
provisions of Chapter 5 of these Rules and all of the aApplicant’s experience was 
obtained after January 30, 1989 and in compliance with the USPAP. Pursuant to 
section 12-61-706(5), C.R.S., real estate appraisal experience must be gained over a 
period of not less than twelve (12) months. 

CD. Real estate appraisal examination: 

1. The prerequisites to taking the Licensed Appraiser examination are: 

a. One hundred fifty (150) creditable class hours as specified in Board Rule 
2.2(A); and 

b. Completion of the college-level education requirements as specified in Board 
Rule 2.2(B); and 

bc. TwoOne thousand (21,000) hours of qualifying experience completed in no 
fewer than twelvesix (126) months. 

2. After receiving approval from the Board, an aApplicant, who is not currently 
licensed or certified and in good standing in another jurisdiction, has up to twenty-
four (24) months to take and pass the Licensed Appraiser examination. 
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3. An aApplicant must successfully complete the Licensed Appraiser examination as 
provided in Chapter 4 of these Rules. The only alternative to successful completion 
of the Licensed Appraiser examination is the successful completion of the Certified 
Residential Appraiser or Certified General Appraiser examination. 

 

2.3  An aApplicant for licensure as a Colorado Certified Residential Appraiser must successfully 
complete the following requirements or the substantial equivalent thereof, as set forth in the 
Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria as defined and incorporated by reference in 
Board Rule 1.32: 

A. Real estate appraisal education: 

1. Basic Appraisal Principles: 30 hours; 

2. Basic Appraisal Procedures: 30 hours; 

3. 15-hour National USPAP Course: 15 hours; 

4. Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use: 15 hours; 

5. Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach: 15 hours; 

6. Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches: 30 hours; 

7. Residential Report Writing and Case Studies: 15 hours; 

8. Statistics, Modeling and Finance: 15 hours; 

9. Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies: 15 hours; and 

10. Appraisal Subject Matter Elective: 20 hours. 

B. College-level or in lieu of education options: 

1. An applicant for the Certified Residential credential must hold a Bachelor’s degree, 
or higher, from an accredited college or university as defined by Board Rule 1.30. 

 1. An Applicant for the Certified Residential Appraiser credential must satisfy at least 
one (1) of the following six (6) options: 

  a. Hold a Bachelor’s Degree in any field of study from an accredited college or 
university as defined by Board Rule 1.30; 

  b. Hold an Associate’s Degree from an accredited college or university as defined 
by Board Rule 1.30, in a field of study related to:  

   i. Business Administration;  

   ii. Accounting;  

   iii. Finance;  

   iv. Economics; or  

   v. Real Estate. 

  c. Successful completion of thirty (30) semester hours of college-level courses 
that cover each of the following specific topic areas and hours: 

   i. English Composition (3 semester hours); 

   ii. Macroeconomics (3 semester hours); 

   iii. Microeconomics (3 semester hours); 

   iv. Finance (3 semester hours); 

   v. Algebra, Geometry, or higher mathematics (3 semester hours); 

   vi. Statistics (3 semester hours); 

   vii. Computer Science (3 semester hours); 
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   viii. Business Law or Real Estate Law (3 semester hours); and 

   ix. Two (2) elective courses in any of the topics listed above or in Accounting, 
Geography, Agricultural Economics, Business Management, or Real 
Estate (3 semester hours each). 

  d. Successful completion of at least thirty (30) semester hours of  

   examinations created and administered by the CLEP, as defined in  

   Board Rule 1.43, from each of the following specific subject matter areas  

   and hours: 

   i.  College Algebra (3 semester hours); 

   ii. College Composition (6 semester hours); 

   iii. College Composition Modular (3 semester hours); 

   iv. College Mathematics (6 semester hours); 

   v. Principles of Macroeconomics (3 semester hours); 

   vi. Principles of Microeconomics (3 semester hours); 

   vii. Introductory Business Law (3 semester hours); and 

   viii. Information Systems (3 semester hours). 

  e. Any combination of Board Rule 2.3(B)(1)(c) and Board Rule (B)(1)(d)  

   above that ensures coverage of all topics and hours identified in Board  

   Rule (B)(1)(c). 

  f. As an alternative to the college-level education requirements in Board  

   Rule (B)(1)(a through e) above, an Applicant that has held a Licensed  

   Appraiser credential for a minimum of five (5) years may qualify for a  

   Certified Residential Appraiser credential if the Applicant has had no  

   record of any adverse, final, and non-appealable disciplinary action  

   affecting the Licensed Appraiser’s legal eligibility to engage in appraisal  

   practice within the five (5) years immediately preceding the date of  

   application for a Certified Residential Appraiser credential. 

 2. All college-level education must be obtained from a degree-granting 

  institution by the Commission on Colleges, a national or regional  

  accreditation association, or by an accrediting agency that is recognized by  

  the US Secretary of Education. 

32. An aApplicant with a college degree from a foreign country may have their 
education evaluated for “equivalency” by one of the following: 

a. An accredited, degree-granting domestic college or university; 

b. The American Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers; 

bc. A foreign degree credential evaluation service company that is a member of 
the National Association of Credential Evaluation Services (NACES); or 

cd. A foreign degree credential evaluation service company that provides 
equivalency evaluation reports accepted by an accredited degree- granting 
domestic college or university or by a state licensing board that issues 
credentials in another discipline. 
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C. Real estate appraisal experience: An aApplicant for licensure as a Certified 
Residential Appraiser must demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Board that the 
aApplicant completed at least twoone thousand five hundred (21,500) hours of 
appraisal experience in conformance with the provisions of Chapter 5 of these Rules 
and all of the aApplicant’s experience was obtained after January 30, 1989 and in 
compliance with the USPAP. Real estate appraisal experience must have been gained 
across a period of not less than twenty-fourtwelve (2412) months. 

D. Real estate appraisal examination: 

1. The prerequisites to taking the Certified Residential Appraiser examination are: 

a. Two hundred (200) creditable class hours as specified in Board Rule 2.3(A); 

b. Completion of the college-level education requirements as specified in Board 
Rule 2.3(B); and 

c. TwoOne thousand five hundred (21,500) hours of qualifying experience 
completed in no fewer than twenty-fourtwelve (2412) months. 

2. After receiving approval from the Board, an Aapplicant, who is not currently 
licensed or certified and in good standing in another jurisdiction, has up to twenty-
four (24) months to take and pass the Certified Residential Appraiser examination. 

 

3. An aApplicant must successfully complete the Certified Residential Appraiser 
examination as provided in Chapter 4 of these Rules. The only alternative to 
successful completion of the Certified Residential Appraiser examination is the 
successful completion of the Certified General Appraiser examination. 

 

2.4 An aApplicant for licensure as a Colorado Certified General Appraiser must successfully 
complete the following requirements or the substantial equivalent thereof, as set forth in the 
Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria as defined and incorporated by reference in 
Board Rule 1.32: 

A. Real estate appraisal education: 

1. Basic Appraisal Principles: 30 hours; 

2. Basic Appraisal Procedures: 30 hours; 

3. 15-Hour National USPAP Course: 15 hours; 

4. General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use: 30 hours; 

5. Statistics, Modeling and Finance: 15 hours; 

6. General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach: 30 hours; 

7. General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach: 30 hours; 

8. General Appraiser Income Approach: 60 hours; 

9. General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies: 30 hours; and 

10. Appraisal Subject Matter Electives: 30 hours. 

B. College-level education: 

1. An aApplicant for the Certified General Appraiser credential must hold a Bachelor’s 
degree, or higher, from an accredited college or university as defined by Board 
Rule 1.30. 

2. An aApplicant with a college degree from a foreign country may have their 
education evaluated for “equivalency” by one of the following: 

a. An accredited, degree-granting domestic college or university; 
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b. The American Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers; 

bc. A foreign degree credential evaluation service company that is a member of 
the National Association of Credential Evaluation Services (NACES); or 

cd. A foreign degree credential evaluation service company that provides 
equivalency evaluation reports accepted by an accredited degree-granting 
domestic college or university or by a state licensing board that issues 
credentials in another discipline. 

C. Real estate appraisal experience: An aApplicant for licensure as a Certified General 
Appraiser must demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Board that the aApplicant 
completed at least three thousand (3,000) hours of appraisal experience, of which one 
thousand five hundred (1,500) hours must be in non-residential appraisal work, in 
conformance with the provisions of Chapter 5 of these Rules and all of the aApplicant’s 
experience was obtained after January 30, 1989 and in compliance with the USPAP. 
Real estate appraisal experience must have been gained across a period of not less 
than thirtyeighteen (3018) months. 

D. Real estate appraisal examination: 

1. The prerequisites to taking the Certified General Appraiser examination are: 

a. Three hundred (300) creditable class hours as specified in Board Rule 2.4(A); 

b. Completion of the college-level education requirements as specified in Board 
Rule 2.4(B); and 

c. Three thousand (3,000) hours of qualifying experience, of which no less than 
one thousand five hundred (1,500) hours must be in non-residential appraisal 
work, completed in no fewer than thirtyeighteen (3018) months. 

2. After receiving approval from the Board, an Aapplicant, who is not currently 
licensed or certified and in good standing in another jurisdiction, has up to twenty-
four (24) months to take and pass the Certified General Appraiser examination. 

3. An aApplicant must successfully complete the Certified General Appraiser 
examination as provided in Chapter 4 of these Rules. 

 

A hearing on the above subject matter will be held on Thursday, July 5, 2018, at the 
Colorado Division of Real Estate, 1560 Broadway, Suite 1250-C, Denver, Colorado 80202 
beginning at 9:00 a.m.  
 
Any interested person may participate in the rule making through submission of written data, 
views and arguments to the Division of Real Estate.  Persons are requested to submit data, views 
and arguments to the Division of Real Estate in writing no less than ten (10) days prior to the 
hearing date and time set forth above. However, all data, views and arguments submitted prior to 
or at the rulemaking hearing or prior to the closure of the rulemaking record (if different from the 
date and time of hearing), shall be considered. 
 

Please be advised that the rule being considered is subject to further changes and 
modifications after public comment and formal hearing. 
 


