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DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION 

Division of Private Occupational Schools 

RULES AND REGULATIONS CONCERNING THE PRIVATE OCCUPATIONAL EDUCATION ACT 
OF 1981 

 

The official publication of these rules exists in the Colorado Code of Regulations (8 CCR 1504-1) 

[Editor’s Notes follow the text of the rules at the end of this CCR Document.] 

STATEMENT OF BASIS AND PURPOSE 

The Private Occupational School Board, Colorado Department of Higher Education adopts these Rules and Regulations 
pursuant to the rule making authority as stated in the Private Occupational Education Act of 1981, Colorado Revised 
Statutes, Article 59 of Title 12 (“The Act” ), for the purpose of delineating and clarifying the respective responsibilities of 
the Private Occupational School Board, the Division of Private Occupational Schools and the Private Occupational 
Schools under the Act as revised. 

 

 

II. GENERAL AND ADMINISTRATIVE 

FEE SCHEDULE 

Effective Date 9/14/14January 31, 2017 

FEE TYPE FEE AMOUNT 
 

Provisional School: Initial Application for Certificate of Approval (COA)* 
  --includes all new Programs and Stand Alone Courses 
 

 Initial COA Application for Additional Campus 

 

$ 1,750.005,000.00/ 

school* 

$ 1,250.002,500.00/ 

campus 

 
 

  Per School/Campus 
 

Renewal School: Standard COA – three (3) year period 
 

$ 1,500.002,000.00  

   Per Program and/or  
  Stand Alone Course 

 

Programs/Courses: New Program/Stand Alone Course per Campus for already approved        

schools 

 Revised (Major or Minor) Program/Stand Alone Course per campus 

 

$ 125.00500.00  

 
$ 125.00500.00  

 
 

       Per Agent 
 

In-State Agent Permit:  
 

$ 175.00300.00  

 

In-State Agent Permit for Multiple Campus Locations under same ownership with  
 same school name:   One (1) Permit per agent—valid at all campus locations (Provisional or 
 Standard COA) 

 

$ 175.00300.00  

 
 

 
 

       Per Agent 
 

Out-of-State Initial/Renewal:     Initial application and annual renewal 

 
Out-of-State Agent Permit per Year under same ownership with same school name:   One 

 (1) Permit per agent—valid at all campus locations 

 

$ 1000.002,500.00 
 

$ 550.00300.00 
 



 
 

 

 Per Enrolled Student 
 

Student Assessment:  In-State and Out-of State, Quarterly per Enrolled Student 
                                    (out-of-state is Colorado resident that resides with-in Colorado receiving training 

or Colorado resident recruited to attended out-of-state school) 

 

 

$ 3.755.00  
  (Subject to Change) 

 
 

 Per School/Campus 
 

 

Change of School Location 

 

 

$ 500.00  
 

 

Change of School Name 

 

 

$ 250.00  
 

 

Change of School Ownership 

 

 

$ 1,750.002000.00  

 
 

   Per Transcript 
 

Student Transcript for Closed School 
 

 

$35.00  

Failure to pay and/or late payment of fees 

1st violation: minimum 
$100; 2nd minimum 

$300; 3rd minimum 
$500, and each 

violation thereafter 

$500. 
Failure to adequately and timely submit Annual Filings pursuant to Rule V  $500 minimum per 

violation per year 

*Programs and Stand Alone Course Approvals forInitial application fee for provisional/new schools includes a combination of up 
to :  no additional fee for up to 105 total programs and 20 stand -alone courses approval for consideration.  Any additional 
programs or stand-alone courses beyond the 10 and 20 figure are subject to the the $100 125 per consideration fees listed above. 

PLEASE NOTE: 
1. Please make all checks payable to:  “DPOS” or “Division of Private Occupational Schools” 
2. Fees are NOT refundable.  
3. Fees are established pursuant to C.R.S. 12-59-116 (1) “for the direct and indirect costs of the administration of” the 
 Private Occupational Education Act of 1981. 
 

IV.  APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATE OF APPROVAL AND SURETY REQUIREMENTS 
 
E.  Surety Bonds and Surety Bond Alternatives 
 
1.  At the time application is made for a Certificate of Approval, or when new programs, stand-alone courses or 

continuing education courses are added, the applicant shall file with the Division a surety bond or surety 
alternative which meets the requirements set forth in these Rules.  Schools located in Colorado each shall file 
one bond or alternative covering the school and its agents. 

 
a. A school whose surety value is found by the Board to be insufficient to fund the unearned, prepaid tuition of 

enrolled students shall be noncompliant with these Rules, and, if, after a period of time determined by the 
Board from the issuance of a notice of noncompliance, the school has not increased its surety to an 
acceptable level, it shall be subject to revocation or suspension of its certificate of approval. 
 

b. Pursuant to C.R.S. 12-59-113 (5) and 12-59-115 (10): 

 (1)  Schools must submit a continuation certificate to the Division no less than fifteen (15) days prior to 
the renewal date of the bond confirming the next term of coverage. 

 (2)  Schools must submit the following for alternative surety instruments: 

 (i)  Schools that have assigned a certificate of deposit to the Division as a surety bond 
alternative must submit a bank statement or other acceptable verification from the bank within 
fifteen (15) days of the maturity date or as requested by the Board.  The bank statement must 
show that the certificate of deposit account remains open, the account number, the amount of 
the Certificate of Deposit, and the next maturity date/ term. 

 (ii) Schools that have assigned a savings account to the Division as a surety bond alternative 
must submit annually, or as requested by the Board, a current bank statement or other 
acceptable verification from the bank confirming the account remains open.  The bank 
statement must show the savings account number and the balance of the savings account. 



 
(iii)  Schools that have assigned an irrevocable letter of credit to the Division as a surety bond 
alternative must submit verification that the letter of credit requirements are still being met and 
that the irrevocable letter of credit remains in effect, within fifteen (15) days prior to the 
expiration date or as requested by the Board.  The verification must include the letter of credit 
number, the amount, and the next expiration date or term, if applicable. 

 


