DEPARTMENT OF REGULATORY AGENCIES
DIVISION OF REAL ESTATE
REAL ESTATE BROKERS
4 CCR 725-1
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING HEARING

October 4, 2011

B-2 METHODS OF COMPLETING CONTINUING EDUCATION

Pursuant to and in compliance with Title 12, Article 61 and Title 24, Article 4, C.R.S. as amended,
notice of proposed rulemaking is hereby given, including notice to the Attorney General of the
State of Colorado and to all persons who have requested to be advised of the intention of the
Colorado Real Estate Commission (the “Commission”) to promulgate rules, or to amend, repeal
or repeal and re-enact the present rules of the Commission.

Section 1. Authority

Section 2. Scope and Purpose

Section 3. Applicability

Section 4. B-2 Methods of Completing Continuing Education
Section 1. Authority

The statutory basis for the adoption of these rules regarding real estate brokers and salespersons
is Parts 1 and 8 of Title 12, Article 61 C.R.S. The specific rulemaking provisions contained therein
are sections 12-61-114.5 and 12-61-803(4), C.R.S.

Section 2. Scope and Purpose

The purpose of this rule is to amend rule B-2 regarding methods of completing continuing
education.

Section 3. Applicability
The provisions of this section shall be applicable to real estate brokers.

Section 4. B-2 Methods of Completing Continuing Education

B-2. Licensed brokers must satisfy the continuing education requirement before applying to
renew an active license, to activate an inactive license or to reinstate an expired license to active
status. Licensed brokers may satisfy the entire continuing education requirement through one of
the following options:

a) Completing the twelve hours required by C.R.S. 12-61-110.5 (1) (c) and (2) required by
this rule in annual 4-hour increments developed by the Commission and called the
“Annual Commission Update” course. Licensees choosing this option must complete an
additional 12 hours of elective credit hours to meet the 24-hour total continuing education
requirement during the license period in subject areas listed in C.R.S. 12-61-110.5(3).

b) A licensee may not take the same version of the Annual Update Course more than once.
If a licensed broker takes more than 12 hours of the Annual Commission Update course
during a license period, the licensee will receive elective credit hours for any additional
hours.

Page 1 of 2



c) Completing the Commission-approved 24-hour "Broker Transition" course. (This option is
permitted once to each licensee in lieu of the requirements of rule B-2 (a)).

d) Completing the Commission-approved 24-hour "Brokerage Administration” course. (This
option is permitted once to each licensee in lieu of the requirements of rule B-2 (a)).

e) Passing the Colorado state portion of the licensing exam.

f) Completing 72 total hours of pre-licensure education concerning the understanding and
preparation of Colorado real estate contracts (48 hours) and real estate closings (24
hours) during the license period. The courses and course providers are required to
comply with the requirements as described at § 12-61-103(4)(a), C.R.S.

A hearing on the above subject matter will be held on Tuesday, October 4, 2011, at the
Colorado Division of Real Estate, 1560 Broadway, Suite 1250-C, Denver, Colorado 80202
beginning at 9:00 a.m.

Any interested person may participate in the rule making through submission of written data,
views and arguments to the Division of Real Estate. Persons are requested to submit data,
views and arguments to the Division of Real Estate in writing no less than ten (10) days prior to
the hearing date and time set forth above. However, all data, views and arguments submitted
prior to or at the rulemaking hearing or prior to the closure of the rulemaking record (if different
from the date and time of hearing), shall be considered.

Please be advised that the rule being considered is subject to further changes and modifications
after public comment and formal hearing.
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