DEPARTMENT OF REGULATORY AGENCIES

Audiology and Hearing Aid Provider Licensure

3CCR711-1

AUDIOLOGY AND HEARING AID PROVIDER RULES

AUTHORITY

Basis

These rules are promulgated and adopted by the Director of Registrations pursuant to——=8§
Sections 12-5.5-106(5) and— §-12-5.5-206(4), C. R. S.

Purpose

These rules are adopted to implement the Director’s authority to license persons as audiologists
or hearing aid providers and to set forth the requirements for being so licensed.

Rule 1 - Minimum-Practice-Standardsfor-the-Sale-ef Hearing-AidsCustomer Records
The purpose of thls ruIe is to hst—semeef—ﬂweemmen%aeeepted—pre#essren&kst&nd&rds—u%he

acre—net—l+m4{ed—te—the—fel-le\mrrg—|dent|fv the requwements for malntalnlnq customer records bv

individuals licensed pursuant to Part | and Part Il of the Audiologists and Hearing Aid Providers
Act, 12-5.5- 101 et. seq pursuant to Sectlons 12 5 5 106(5) and 12- 5 5- 206(4) (b) C R. S

Add-Provider{Licensee) licensee shall maintain all customer records for at least seven
years. These records shall identify customer’s name, the goods and services provided to
each customer (excluding minor accessories and batteries), and the date and price of each
transaction.




Rule 2 - Malpractlce Insurance for Audlologlsts

The purpose of the following rule is to establish the amount of malpractice coverage that must be

maintained ebtained-by an audiologist who provides services to patients as required by

——S8Sections 12-5.5-106(4), and-§ 12-5.5-102(3)(e), C.R.S.:

A. An audiologist shall maintain malpractice coverage of at least of $1,000,000 per incident
and $3,000,000 aggregate per year.

Rule 3 - Hearing Aid Provider Trainees and Associates

The purpose of this rule is to clarify the scope of practice of Hearing Aid Provider Trainees and

Associates, to establish the time period during which a trainee license and-associateregistration

certificate-shall be valid, and to specify the components of the training required to be completed

by trainees and associates pursuant to———=§ Section 12-5.5-202.5(4), C.R.S.

A A “hearing-aid-provider-trainee license” ——is defined as a license issued to a hearing aid
provider trainee or a hearing aid provider associate.

B. A “hearing aid provider trainee” is defined as an individual in training to become a
licensed Hearing Aid Provider who has not completed 300 documented hours of direct
and personally supervised training with a registered-licensed hearing aid provider or
Fegistelced—licensed audiologist in the-state-efColorado.

BC. A *“hearing aid provider associate”— is defined as an individual in training to become a
licensed Hearing Aid Provider who has completed a minimum of 300 hours of direct and
personally supervised training with en-site-supervisedpractice-with-a registered-licensed
hearing aid provider or licensed audiologist in the-state-ef-Colorado and is reported as
being competent to the Office of Audielogists-Audiology and Hearing Aid Provider
Licensure by a registered-licensed audiologist or hearing aid provider who directly
supervised the associate.

D. A “supervisor” must possess an active license and been actively practicing for at least
two consecutive years immediately prior to supervising and must be Board certified by
the National Board for Certification in Hearing Instrument Sciences (NBCHIS) or a
licensed audiologist.

1. The supervisor must not have been disciplined during the past four years.
2. The supervisor may not sponsor more than three trainees at one time.




3. Both the trainee and the supervisor shall immediately notify the program in
writing, and provide the reason for any break in, or termination of, the training
program.

4. A trainee who loses supervision for any reason shall immediately cease practice
and shall not continue in a trainee status with a new supervisor until the trainee
receives written approval from the Office of Audiology and Hearing Aid Provider
Licensure.

5. The supervisor shall keep a daily log during the direct supervision period, which
shall include the hours of instruction, the duties assigned, the total hours worked
each week and the type of services performed. This log shall be made available to
the Office of Audiology and Hearing Aid Provider Licensure, upon request, and
upon completion of the supervision period.

E. No person may practice as a trainee or associate prior to being issued a trainee license by
the Office of Audiology and Hearing Aid Provider Licensure. Any work prior to the
issuance of a trainee license will not apply as training hours towards the associate status.

CF.  Before a hearing aid provider trainee can become a hearing aid provider associate, the
hearing aid provider trainee must complete 300 hours of supervised training in the
following:

1. taking-Taking a case history and review;

2. etoseopyOtoscopy;

3. testing-Testing of hearing including air conduction and bone conduction with
proper masking when needed;

4. testing-Testing of speech including SRT, MCL, UCL, and Biserimination
discrimination with proper masking when needed:;

5. interpreting-Interpreting hearing tests and the making of medical referrals as
necessary;

6. taking-Taking of standard and in the canal ear impressions;

7. fittirg-Fitting and post-fitting counseling including the delivery of the hearing aid,
insertion and removal of the hearing aid, instruction on changing the batteries, and
education to the user and family as to expectations and performance;

8. checking-Checking for proper fit and making needed adjustments; and

9. verifying-Verifying the hearing aid performance to determine if the hearing aid is
correcting and conforming to the hearing loss as expected. This includes but is
not limited to the use of real ear measurement, word discrimination, aided
vs:versus unaided, or other forms of aided measurements as may be standard in
the industry.

DBG. A hearing aid provider trainee must be under the personal and direct supervision of the
supervising licensed hearing aid provider or audiologist supervised-at all times while
learning and performing the tasks identified in paragraph S-F above. For purposes of this
rule “direct supervision” shall mean supervision that is on the premises and in the same
building where the trainee is practicing. At no time shall a hearing aid previder-trainee
sell a hearing aid independently of the direct and personal supervision of the supervising
Ilcensed hearmq ald prowder or audloloqlst Be#epmwenheaetﬂﬁﬂe&wmaragraphﬁ

EH A hearlng ald prowder assouate may mdependentlv engage in the actlvmes described in

paragraph F above. But at no time shall a hearing aid associate sell a hearing aid




independently of the direct and personal supervision of the supervising licensed hearing

aid prowder or audlolomst eawen#ybeeemea#egﬂered—heannguaw—pmwdewpen

A hearlnq aid prowder assouate may apply to become a Ilcensed hearing aid provider
upon successful completion and passage of the National Competency Examination of the
Natlonal Board for Certlflcatlon in Hearlnq Instrument SC|ences Neqeeesenmaypraeuee

hearing aid provider associate shall hold a trainee license for no longer than three (3}

years from date of issuance of the first-temperaryregistrationtrainee license or 60 days
after successful completion of the National Board for Certification-Hearing Instrument

Science (“NBCHIS”) examination, whichever comes first.

Rule 4 - Written Disclosures to Purchasers

The purpose of this rule is specify the type of written disclosures to be provided to purchasers of
hearing aids pursuant to——=5- Sections 12-5.5-206(4)(a), and 206(5), C.R.S.; that will protect
such purchasers_and that are necessary for the enforcement and administration of the
Audiologists and Hearing Aid Providers Act.

A

SeHers-ef-hearing-atdsThe licensee shall identify themselves by listing their name,
registratien-license type (i.e., audiologist or hearing aid provider), and-registrationlicense
number, business address and telephone number on every contract or purchase agreement
for the sale of a hearlnq ald

number—Llcensees shall |nclude provisions on aII contracts and purchase agreements

stating the following:

1. Hearing aid providers and audiologists are requlated by the Division of
Registrations.

2. Any complaints can be filed against the Licensee with the Office of Audiology
and Hearing Aid Provider Licensure within the Division of Registration.

3. The Office of Audiology and Hearing Aid Provider Licensure’s website, address,

and telephone number

ef—heanng—mels—teln calculatlnq rescission refunds the L|censee may retaln an
itemized amount to cover the “minimum costs of materials used”— by-a-registrant




5.

the Licensee and a manufacturer's return feebut-such-ameunt-may-net-be-greater
than-fivepercent not to exceed 5% of the total charge for the hearing aid.
In refund transactions, the Professional-services-thatare-itemized-in-the

purehaser's-contract-are-net-considered-“minimum costs of materials used”subject
folowingactual-costs subject to the 5% retainer of costs threshold shall not
include professional services such as the following:

a. Ear molds, but not impressions;
b. Fitting and consultation fees; and
c Rehabllltatlon serV|ces

4 .

.A provmo
that clearly |dent|f|es aII professmnal services, mcluqu but not I|m|ted to those

Ilsted in subsection 2 above, and the exact charqe for each service.

G&HG@”&HGH—A statement that clearlv |dent|f|es all of the costs of materials used

that is subject to the 5% retainer of costs.
The manufacturer’s return fee.

Rule 5 - Declaratory Orders
The purpose of this rule is to establish procedures for the handling of requests for declaratory
| orders filed pursuant to the Colorado Administrative Procedures Act at—§ Section 24-4-
105(11), C.R.S.
Any person or entity may petition the Director for a declaratory order to terminate
controversies or remove uncertainties as to the applicability of any statutory provision or
of any rule or order of the Director.
The Director will determine, at her discretion and without notice to petitioner, whether to
rule upon any such petition. _If the Director determines that she will not rule upon such a
petition, the Director shall promptly notify the petitioner of her action and state the
reasons for such decision.
In determining whether to rule upon a petition filed pursuant to this rule, the Director will
consider the following matters, among others:

A

1.

Whether a ruling on the petition will terminate a controversy or remove
uncertainties as to the applicability to petitioner of any statutory provisions or rule
or order of the Director.

Whether the petition involves any subject, question or issue that is the subject of a
formal or informal matter or investigation currently pending before the Director
or a court involving one or more petitioners.

Whether the petition involves any subject, question or issue that is the subject of a
formal or informal matter or investigation currently pending before the Director
or a court but not involving any petitioner.



Whether the petition seeks a ruling on a moot or hypothetical question or will
result in an advisory ruling or opinion.

Whether the petitioner has some other adequate legal remedy, other than an action
for declaratory relief pursuant to CRCP 57, which will terminate the controversy
or remove any uncertainty as to the applicability to the petitioner of the statute,
rule or order in question.

Any petition filed pursuant to this rule shall set forth the following:

1.

2.
3.

The name and address of the petitioner and whether the petitioner is registered
licensed pursuant to Title 12, Article 5.5.

The statute, rule or order to which the petition relates.

A concise statement of all of the facts necessary to show the nature of the
controversy or uncertainty and the manner in which the statute, rule, or order in
question applies or potentially applies to the petitioner.

If the Director determines that she will rule on the petition, the following procedures shall

apply:
1.

The Director may rule upon the petition based solely upon the facts presented in

the petition. In such a case:

a. Any ruling of the Director will apply only to the extent of the facts
presented in the petition and any amendment to the petition.

b. The Director may order the petitioner to file a written brief, memorandum
or statement of position.

C. The Director may set the petition, upon due notice to petitioner, for a non-
evidentiary hearing.

d. The Director may dispose of the petition on the sole basis of the matters
set forth in the petition.

e. The Director may request the petitioner to submit additional facts in

writing. _In such event, such additional facts will be considered as an
amendment to the petition.

f. The Director may take administrative notice of facts pursuant to the
Administrative Procedure Act at——5& Section 24-4-105(8), C.R.S., and
may utilize her experience, technical competence, and specialized
knowledge in the disposition of the petition.

If the Director rules upon the petition without a hearing, she shall promptly notify

the petitioner of her decision.

The Director may, at her discretion, set the petition for hearing, upon due notice

to petitioner, for the purpose of obtaining additional facts or information or to

determine the truth of any facts set forth in the petition or to hear oral argument
on the petition. The notice to the petitioner shall set forth, to the extent known,
the factual or other matters into which the Director intends to inquire.

For the purpose of such a hearing, to the extent necessary, the petitioner shall

have the burden of proving all the facts stated in the petition; all of the facts

necessary to show the nature of the controversy or uncertainty; and the manner in
which the statute, rule, or order in question applies or potentially applies to the
petitioner and any other facts the petitioner desires the Director to consider.

The parties to any proceeding pursuant to this rule shall be the Director and the petitioner.
Any other person may seek leave of the Director to intervene in such a proceeding, and



leave to intervene will be granted at the sole discretion of the Director._ A petition to
intervene shall set forth the same matters as are required by Section D of this Rule. Any
reference to a “petitioner”——_in this Rule also refers to any person who has been granted
leave to intervene by the Director.

G. Any declaratory order or other order disposing of a petition pursuant to this Rule shall
constitute agency action subject to judicial review pursuant to the Colorado
Administrative Procedures Act at—S Section 24-4-106, C.R.S.

Rule 6 — Requirement for Reinstatement

The purpose of this rule is to state the requirements for reinstatement of an audiologist or hearing

aid provider license that has expired pursuant to Sections 12-5.5-103 and 12-5.5-203, C.R.S.

A. A licensee applying for reinstatement of an expired license shall complete a reinstatement
application, pay a reinstatement fee, and attest to the appropriate bond or insurance
coverage as required by statute.

B. If the license has been expired for more than two years from the date of receipt of the
reinstatement application, but less than five years, a licensee applying for reinstatement
of an expired license shall establish “competency to practice” under Sections 24-34-
102(8)(d)(11)(A) and (D) and, 24-34-105, C.R.S. as follows:

1. Verification of licensure in good standing from another state along with
verification of active practice in that state for two years of the previous five years
from the date of application for reinstatement; OR

2. Completion of 30 hours of continuing education courses related to the practice of
audiology or hearing aid providers during the two years immediately preceding
the application for reinstatement. The continuing education must meet the
approval of the Director; OR

3. Supervised practice for a period of no less than six months subject to the terms
established by the Director; OR

4. With regard to Hearing Aid Provider licensees only, retaking and achieving a
passing score on the NBCHIS accredited examination within two years
immediately preceding submission of an application for reinstatement, OR

5. By any other means approved by the Director.

C. An applicant seeking to reinstate a license that has been expired for more than five years
is not eligible to complete B(2) of this rule and shall demonstrate “competency to
practice” as required by Section 24-34-102(8)(d)(11)(B) and (F), C. R.S. by:

1. Verification of licensure in good standing from another state along with proof of
active practice for two years of the previous five years prior to an application for
reinstatement; OR

2. Supervised practice for a period of no less than six months subject to the terms
established by the Director; OR

3. With regard to Hearing Aid Provider licensees only, retaking and achieving a
passing score on the NBCHIS accredited examination within two years
immediately preceding submission of an application for reinstatement; OR

4. By any other means approved by the Director.

Rule 7 — Reporting Convictions and Other Adverse Actions

The purpose of this rule is to clarify the procedures for reporting convictions and other adverse

actions to include judgments and administrative proceedings pursuant to Section 12-5.5-102, 12-




5.5-102.5, 12-5.5-105(1)(b)(11), (1X), 12-5.5-105(2), 12-5.5-106(5), 12-5.5-202(2), 12-5.5-

202(2)(b)(1V), 12-5.5-205(1)(b)(V), (X), (XII), 12-5.5-205(2) and 12-5.5-206(4), C.R.S.

A. A Licensee, as defined in Sections 12-5.5-101 and 201, C.R.S. including those licensed

pursuant to Sections 12-5.5-202.5 and 102.5, shall inform the Office of Audiology and

Hearing Aid Provider Licensure, in a manner set forth by the Director, within 30 days of

any adverse action. For purposes of this rule, “adverse action” includes the following:

1.

Conviction or acceptance of a plea of quilty or nolo contendere or receipt of a

deferred sentence in any court to a crime involving fraud, deception, false
pretense, theft, misrepresentation, false advertising, or dishonest dealing.
In regard to Hearing Aid Providers Associates and Trainees only: a felony

conviction under the laws of any state or of the United States. For purposes of
this rule, a “conviction” includes, but is not limited to: entry or acceptance to a
plea of quilty, nolo contendere (no contest), or receipt of a deferred sentence in

any court.
A disciplinary action imposed upon the licensee by another jurisdiction which

would or could reasonably be considered to be a violation of Part 1 or 2, Article
5.5, Section 12 C.R.S., whether such charges or complaints are pending against
the Licensee in another jurisdiction, and whether disciplinary action was taken.
For purposes of this rule any disciplinary action by another jurisdiction includes,
but not limited to, a revocation, suspension, probation, fine, sanction, or a denial
of a license or authorization to practice.

Any judgment, award, or settlement of a civil action or arbitration in which there

was a final judgment or settlement against the licensee for failing to practice
according to commonly accepted professional standards.
The notice to the Director shall include the following information:

6.

a. If the event is an action by a governmental agency (as described above):
the name of the agency, its jurisdiction, the case name, the docket,
proceeding or case number by which the event is designated, and a copy
of the consent decree, order, or decision;

b. If the event is a felony conviction: the court, its jurisdiction, the case
name, the case number, a description of the matter or a copy of the
indictment or charges, and any plea or verdict entered by the court. The
licensee shall also provide to the Director a copy of the imposition of
sentence related to the felony conviction and the completion of all terms
of the sentence within 90 days of such action;

c. If the event concerns a civil action or arbitration proceeding: the court
or arbiter, the jurisdiction, the case name, the case number, a description
of the matter or a copy of the complaint, and a copy of the verdict, the
court or arbitration decision, or, if settled, the settlement agreement and
court’s order of dismissal.

The licensee may submit a written statement with any notice under this rule to be

7.

included in the licensee records.
This rule shall apply to any adverse action as described in paragraph A of this rule

that occurs on or after the effective date of this rule.

Rule 8 — Duty to Report Information




The purpose of this rule is to clarify the requirement of licensees to notify the Director of a
change in submitted information pursuant to Section 24-34-107, C.R.S.

A. The licensee shall inform the Office of Audiology and Hearing Aid Provider Licensure in
clear, explicit and unambiguous written statement of any name, address, telephone, or
email change within 30 days of the change. The Office of Audiology and Hearing Aid
Provider Licensure will not change a licensee’s information without explicit written
notification from the licensee. Notification by any manner approved by the Division is
acceptable.

1. The Division of Registrations maintains one contact address for each licensee,
regardless of the number of licenses the licensee may hold.

2. Address change requests for some, but not all communications, or for confidential
communications only, are not accepted.

B. The Office of Audiology and Hearing Aid Provider Licensure requires one of the
following forms of documentation to change a licensee’s name or social security number:

1. Marriage license;

2. Divorce decree;

3. Court order; or

4. Driver’s license or social security card with a second form of identification may
be acceptable at the discretion of the Division.




