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DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENT 

Water Quality Control Commission 

REGULATION NO. 101 - WATER QUALITY CIVIL PENALTY INFLATION ADJUSTMENT 
REGULATION 

5 CCR 1002-101 

[Editor’s Notes follow the text of the rules at the end of this CCR Document.] 

_______________________________________________________________________________ 

101.1 AUTHORITY 

These regulations are promulgated pursuant to the Colorado Water Quality Control Act, sections 25-8-
101 through 25-8-803, C.R.S., In particular, they are promulgated under sections 25-8-202 and 25-8-
608(1), C.R.S.. 

101.2 PURPOSE 

The purpose of these regulations is to annually adjust the amount of the maximum civil penalty applied to 
violations of the Colorado Water Quality Control Act, based on the percentage change in the United 
States Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics Consumer Price Index for Denver-Aurora- 
Lakewood for All Items and All Urban Consumer, or its successor index.  

101.3 REGULATIONS 

A. Beginning on January 1, 2022, the maximum civil penalty identified in 25-8-608803(1), C.R.S., for 
a person who violates the Water Quality Control Act, a permit issued under the Act, a control 
regulation promulgated pursuant to the Act, or a final cease-and-desist order or clean-up order 
shall be not more than $56,759 the calculated adjusted maximum penalty for 2022 per day per 
violation.  

B. The calculated adjusted maximum penalty for 2022 shall be $54,833 adjusted by the percent 
change in the United States Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics Consumer Price 
Index for Denver-Aurora- Lakewood for All Items and All Urban Consumer Index from July 2020 
to July 2021.  

101.4 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions are applicable within the intent of these regulations: 

A. "Colorado Water Quality Control Act" or “Act” means the Colorado Water Quality Control Act as 
from time to time amended, section 25-8-101, C.R.S., 1973, et seq. 

B. "Commission" means the water quality control commission created by section 25-8-201, C.R.S.. 
 

C. "Division" means the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, Water Quality 
Control Division.  
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D. “Person” means an individual, corporation, partnership, association, state or political subdivision 
thereof, federal agency, state agency, municipality, commission, or interstate body. 

101.5 – 101.9 RESERVED 

101.10 STATEMENT OF BASIS, SPECIFIC STATUTORY AUTHORITY, AND PURPOSE 

The provisions of Colorado Revised Statutes Sections 25-8-608(1) provides the specific statutory 
authority for the Water Quality Civil Penalty Inflation Adjustment Regulation adopted by the Commission. 
The Commission has also adopted, in compliance with Colorado Revised Statutes Section 24-4-103(4), 
C.R.S., the following Statement of Basis and Purpose. 

BASIS AND PURPOSE 

Section 25-8-803608(1), C.R.S., directs that “on or before December 31, 2021, the commission shall, by 
rule, annually adjust the amount of the maximum civil penalty based on the percentage change in the 
United States Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics Consumer Price Index for Denver-Aurora-
Lakewood for All Items and All Urban Consumers, or its successor index.” 
 
This regulation implements this statutory direction and provides for the new annually adjusted maximum 
civil penalty identified in 25-8-803608(1), C.R.S.. The maximum penalty prior to adjustment that is 
identified in statute is fifty-four thousand eight hundred thirty-three dollars ($54,833). This prior maximum 
penalty is applicable from July 2, 2020, when it was added to 25-8-608(1), C.R.S. , through January 1, 
2022, when the new maximum penalty identified in this regulation goes into effect. This maximum penalty 
applied from the revision of the statute that applied this maximum on July 2, 2020 through the application 
of the 2022 adjusted maximum penalty identified in this regulation on January 1, 2022. In accordance with 
the statutory direction to adjust the maximum penalty annually, the commission intends to revise this 
regulation annually to identify a new maximum penalty to become effective no later than January 1st of 
each subsequent year.  

1) Method for Determining the  Percentage Change in the Consumer Price Index: 

The Commission used the following method to calculate the percent change in the United States 
Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics Consumer Price Index for Denver-Aurora-
Lakewood for all Items and all Urban Consumers (the Consumer Price Index) to be used for 
calculating the new maximum penalty. 
 
The commission based the percentage change calculation on the change between the July 2020 
Consumer Price Index and the July 2021 Consumer Price Index. Using the July Consumer Price 
Index values for this calculation aligns with the statutory direction to provide an annual adjustment 
to the maximum penalty because the previous maximum was established in statute effective in 
July 2020. This method also allows for the use of the most recent available data. 

The commission expects that the same method will be used for future revisions to this regulation. 
Any changes to the method will be addressed in the applicable future Statement of Basis and 
Purpose. 

2) Calculation of the 2022 Adjusted Maximum Penalty: 
 
The new maximum penalty is calculated by adjusting the previous maximum penalty by the 
percent change in the Consumer Price Index from July 2020 to July 2021. 
 
The Previous Maximum Penalty is identified in 25-8-803608(1), C.R.S., as $54,833.   
 
The July 2020 Consumer Price Index is 275.589. The July 2021 Consumer Price Index is 
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285.267.will be published in July 2021 at: https://www.bls.gov/regions/mountain-plains/news-
release/home.htm.  This represents a 3.512% change. 
 
The adjusted maximum penalty is therefore equal to $54,833 multiplied by (1 + ((285.267The July 
2021 Consumer Price Index) - 275.589) / 275.589). This results in a 2022 adjusted maximum 
penalty of $56,759. 
  
 

3) Regulatory Process for Future Adjustments:  
 
To meet the statutory direction to apply an annual adjustment, the Commission must revise this 
regulation annually to be effective by January 1 of each subsequent year. It is the Commission's 
intention to make these adjustments effective on January 1. To meet this timeline, the 
Commission intendsed to annually schedule a rulemaking no later than October of each year. 
The Division will provide to the Commission a proposed revision to this regulation identifying the 
proposed new adjusted maximum penalty which will include proposed language for the Statement 
of Basis and Purpose that identifies the method and the values for the Consumer Price Index 
used in the calculation. 

 

 
 
PARTIES TO THE RULEMAKING HEARING 

October 12, 2021 

HEARING CHAIR:  

1.   

_______________________________________________________________________________ 

Editor’s Notes 

History 

 


